Warsaw 6.1 ºC
Kontakta oss
HomeTuristattraktioner“Stara Kopalnia” Multicultural Park

“Stara Kopalnia” Multicultural Park


Måndag - 10.00-18.00
Tisdag - 10.00-18.00
Onsdag - 10.00-18.00
Torsdag - 10.00-18.00
Fredag - 10.00-18.00
Lördag - 10.00-18.00
Söndag - 10.00-18.00

The first documented historical information about coal mining in what is now Walbrzych comes from the second half of the 16th century. Mining has developed in the region for about 500 years and the times of greatest growth fall in the second half of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.


The open-air museum of mining construction work from the 19th century operates on the premises of the former coal mine “Fuchs” which dates back to 1770. The centrepiece of the complex is two steel mineshaft towers, formerly “Julius”, but today “Julia” and formerly “Ida”, but today “Sobotka” that operated between 1893 and 1902. They were incorporated into bastion-like brick towers built between 1867 and 1874 in the shape of Sebastopol’s defensive towers used during the Crimean War. It is one of the few still surviving technical structures of this type in the world. At the end of World War II the mine received the name “Julia” but by 1996 coal was no longer being extracted and by 1998 all underground workings in the mine had been liquidated. After this liquidation much of the mining equipment still remained active and in 2000 the site was partially opened to the public by creating the Museum of Industry and Technology which in 2008 became the Stara Kopalnia Multicultural Park. It is situated in the historic architectural industrial complex of the mine.

Stara Kopalnia Multicultural Park
Ul Piotra Wysockiego 29
58 -304 Walbrzych
Tel: +48 74 664 60 33
e-mail: sekretariat@starakopalnia.com.pl

Booking tours and sightseeing INFORMATION:
Phone: +48 74 664 60 33 ext. 311
email: sekretariat@starakopalnia.com.pl

Two routes are been prepared for tourist:
Route 1 – The historic “Julia” Mineshaft
Programme of the visit:
“Markownia”, a mining steam room from 1915, shaft hoisting machinery from the “Julia” mineshaft from 1911, an exhibition of mechanical workshop equipment, an exhibition of multi-functional machinery and mining transport equipment, the “Julia” Mineshaft from 1939 with machinery and mining equipment for processing and loading coal.
Route 2 - The historic “Lisia” adit and the “Sobotka” Mineshaft
Programme of the visit:
The framework of the “Sobotka” Mineshaft, the extraction machinery from 1912, an exhibition of shaft mining machinery and equipment, the “Sobotka” Mineshaft up to a depth of 33m and the “Lisia” adit with a length of about 200made which was excavated at the beginning of the 19th century.
Tour takes about 1.5 hours.
The routes are electrically illuminated.
The trails are not suitable for people with physical disabilities.
Guided tours only
By prior arrangement, organised groups can arrange to visit the mines at other dates and times than those specified.
We recommend comfortable, athletic shoes and warm clothing in the summer.

The Stara Kopalnia Multicultural Park in Walbrzych will not be open to tourists because of the modernization work between 2011 and 2012.


localization-imgLocation Map:

Wysockiego street 29
58304 Wałbrzych
Latitud och longitud: 50.7724585,16.2625029


Jag skulle vilja erhålla nyhetsbrev