Warsaw 2.2 ºC
Contacteer ons

Arna’s Church


Unit type:
- Open all year round

The Church's interior looks stylish in the spirit of the Renaissance - the view is breathtaking.

We can not accurately reproduce the history of the creation of parish Church. The first mention of the parish is found in the Acts of the Apostolic Chamber from 1325-1328. The Church was then much smaller, made of limestone. At the turn of the fourteenth and fifteenth century nave was extended and the west tower was added.
In 1561 a large fire destroyed city’s Gothic parish Church. The next 25 years it was in ruins. Probably, Firelejs contributed to it, followers of Protestantism, who hold the county of Kazimierz. The reconstruction started in 1586upon the acting of rector Mateusz Bech – progressive man and familiar with the new trends in art, due to his stay in the capital. He decided that Gothic Church was to be rebuilt in the Spirit of the Renaissance. Major structural changes included the increase of the walls and decrease of the roof and covering the inside of a barrel vault with lunettes. To rebuild the shrine there was hired well-known, settled in Poland- Italian man, Jacob Balin. The works were completed in 1630


Zamkowa street 6
24-120 Kazimierz Dolny
Provinsen: LUBELSKIE
Lengde- og breddegrad: 51.318,21.9542

Plan je reis

Ik wil nieuwsbrief ontvangen